Run with shoe string budget


Pic Courtesy: Clarita

We should learn how to run a magazine or a TV station with shoe string budget and skeleton stuff. Small newspapers, magazines and TV stations should overhaul their conventional structures.To shore up their declining revenues, they should torn up their existing news structure. When various small media publications approach me to run their small, Independent magazines, I decide to torn up the existing structure. I know that I could not compete with market leaders in this segment (News or lifestyle) and to create a new identity, I try to convert the magazine into an informative magazine. Because, as a small media house, I know my budget. I can not spare a single penny in promotional and other activities. So I concentrate on content. I know that I can not buy pictures and articles. I use only royalty free pictures and publish pictures with due courtesy. I am grateful to foreign publications and writers who usually give me the necessary permission to republish ( read translation) of their articles. As journalists, we should know how to use the internet properly. We can not or should not use articles or pictures without prior permission. For this purpose, I use scholarly and  academic search engines. Google may be a popular search engine but as a professional, we should keep in mind that plagiarism is not acceptable in any form of Journalism. After all, we should remember that we are not here (Journalism) to merely make a living and we should believe in mission of Journalism.

About shanthanubh

A calcutta(India)based Independent newsresearcher and Investigative reporter.He has been working as a journalist for more than 15 years.He had worked as a news researcher for various news based programs in Calcutta.Shanthanu considers Deborah Potter and Theressha Collington Moore as his mentor because in his early days of journalism carrier, he was inspired and motivited by their works and learnt a lot from them about media ethics and news research.Though,a news researcher don't get enough credit for his job,he sticks to it.He believes that as journalists we should follow the jounalism mantra that if your mother says she loves you, check it out.we work as a store clerk.we believe that facts are more important than adjectives.Earlier,he also worked as a private investigator to brush up his skill as an Investigative Reporter.

Posted on June 24, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

